Katherine Grainger has received the Olympian of the Year award. The Great British rower won gold in London. Grainger is a three time Olympic silver medalist but this year won gold with her partner Anna Watkins in the women’s double sculls.

This comes after winning silver in Sydney in 2000 as part of the quadruple sculls, silver in Athens in 2004 in the coxless pair, silver in Beijing as part of the quadruple sculls again. But this year, Grainger came out on top and won gold. A great achievement and after being close so many times before, the award for Olympian of the year is a great reward for Grainger.

But for this award, there were several other athletes that were more than worthy of being Olympian of the year.

Sir Chris Hoy. Great Britain’s most successful Olympian added two more golds to his collection. Hoy won gold in the team sprint and a great showing in the final to win the Keirin. Hoy’s performances in the velodrome this summer were exceptional and showing that he is still the best in his fourth Olympic Games. Hoy now has six golds to his name as well as a silver medal. He is the joint most decorated British Olympian of all time.

…the title of the most decorated Olympian of all time…

Bradley Wiggins has had a memorable year. From being the first British cyclist to win the Tour de France to claiming gold in the road time trial. An impressive achievement, even more so as for the other three Olympic Games, Wiggins competed and won medals in the velodrome. This year he took to the road and completed his memorable year. Wiggins shares the title of the most decorated Olympian of all time with Sir Chris Hoy.

Jessica Ennis lit up the Olympic Games. The face of the London games had massive pressure on her shoulders. She was expected to deliver a medal and with the home crowd cheering her on in every event, Ennis delivered with a gold. Ennis set three personal bests on her way to scoring 6,995 points, a British record.

…the title of Olympian of the year may come later…

Laura Trott really shone in the velodrome. Trott claimed gold in the team pursuit alongside Dani King and Joanna Rowsell. Trott also won gold in the Omnium. The double gold winner will be competing for gold medals in many more Olympics to come so the title of Olympian of the year may come later on in Trott’s career.

Mo Farah capped off a truly memorable day when he won the 10,000 metre final. After Jessica Ennis won heptathlon gold and Greg Rutherford won long jump gold, Farah stormed through to claim gold. The greatest evening in British sporting history. Mo Farah later went on to win the 5,000 metre final and cap off a great Olympic Games.

The list is endless…

Alistair Brownlee won gold in the triathlon. Brownlee swam 1500 metres, cycled 43km then ran for 10km. Brownlee completed this in a time of one hour and forty six minutes.

There are many to choose from. Ben Ainslie, Jason Kenny, Victoria Pendleton. The list is endless. To pick one is difficult and different people will have different opinions. Our team inspired a nation and this will never be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.