Adrian “Jackpot” Lewis will start the defence of his PDC World Championship crown against Dutchman Gino Vos. The two-time champion of the world has made the stage his own in recent years with wins in 2011 and 2012. He is going into the even ranked 2nd in the PDC and going for a superb hat-trick of titles at the Alexandra Palace in North London.

Number one seed is the iconic 15-time world champion Phil “the power” Taylor who will kick start his search of making it number 16 against Michael Mansell. Phil has won the Premier League, World Matchplay and the Players Championship final events in 2012 and is favourite to win the 20th staging of the PDC tournament.

2012 Grand Slam of Darts winner and five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld has an interesting first round encounter against the up and coming Michael Smith who has had a good year on the PDC pro and youth tours with a win at a Players Championship  in Spain.

…to continue his amazing form…

World Grand Prix Champion “Mighty” Michael van Gerwen looks to continue his amazing form this year against either World Soft Tip Champion Paul Lim or Mohd Latif Sapup. Lim has loads of experience playing big-time darts and did hit the first ever World Championship nine-dart finish back in 1990.

Seven-time PDC major winner James Wade takes on Peter Hudson  and Canadian three-time world title winner John Part who lost a classic quarter-final to Wade last year will face Joe Cullen.  Last year’s finalist Andy “the hammer” Hamilton takes on James Richardson and UK Open Champion Robert Thornton takes on Sweden’s Magnus Caris.

…play each other in the opening round…

2010 runner-up and European Champion Simon Whitlock faces the winner of a preliminary game between Haruki Muramatsu and Dave Harrington, 2011 finalist Gary Anderson will play either Jarkko Komula or Jani Haavisto from their prelim match.

One of the standout ties is when Ronnie Baxter meets Dennis Priestley who has won the world title on two occasions will play each other in the opening round with “the menace” winning the first PDC Championship in 1994 at the Circus Tavern beating Phil Taylor in the final.

…legendary darts commentator…

The first world champion of 2013 will receive the new Sid Waddell trophy in honour of the legendary darts commentator who passed away in August.

All the fun with the superstars of darts begins on the 14 December right through to the final on New Year’s Day.  It is being billed as the best championships ever and Christmas is just not the same without the greatest darts show on earth!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.